Skip to content Skip to footer

Zimbabwe-Mozambique-Zambia Transfrontier Conservation Area

The ZIMOZA TFCA is a transboundary initiative for managing shared natural resources through community based resource management, infrastructural development and policy harmonization. 

The area consists of four districts, which are Mbire in Zimbabwe, Zumbo, and Magoe in Mozambique, and Luangwa in Zambia. It is located in the Zambezi valley where the Zambezi River and Luangwa River meet, covering a total area of approximately 29,859 km2 of National Parks, Game Management Areas, Safari Areas and communal land. ZIMOZA TFCA overlaps slightly with the Lower Zambezi – Mana Pools TFCA which lies directly on its western border.

The TFCA encompasses parts of the Lower Zambezi National Park and the entire Rufunsa Game Management Area in Zambia and includes the Chewore and the Dande Safari Area in Zimbabwe. There is no formally protected area in Mozambique although the area included communal land and provides for a good habitat for many wildlife species.


Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area

The KAZA TFCA is enormous, larger than Germany and Austria combined and nearly twice as large as the United Kingdom. It lies in the Kavango and Zambezi river basins where Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe converge.


Greater Mapungubwe Transfrontier Conservation Area

The Greater Mapungubwe Transfrontier Conservation Area (GMTFCA) measures 5,909km2 encompassing private land in Botswana, South Africa and Zimbabwe. Tourists visit to the area not only to see the magnificent sandstone formations, the wide variety of trees – notably the enormous baobabs – and game and birdlife, but also to experience a kinship with past generations.


Great Limpopo Transfrontier Conservation Area

Great Limpopo Transfrontier Conservation Area encompasses various land uses and represents a true example of collaboration and management of shared natural resources. The GLTFCA joins together some of the most established wildlife areas in southern Africa into a core are of approximately 37,572 km2. 

The Transfrontier Conservation Area links the Limpopo National Park in Mozambique, Kruger National Park in South Africa, and Gonarezhou National Park, Manjinji Pan Sanctuary and Malipati Safari Area in Zimbabwe, as well as two community owned areas, one which forms part of the Kruger National Park, namely the Makuleke Area and the Sengwe communal land in Zimbabwe.


Lower Zambezi – Mana Pools Transfrontier Conservation Area

In northern Zimbabwe, the Mana Pools National Park has the mighty Zambezi River separating it from Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park. The Lower Zambezi Mana Pools TFCA measures 17,745 km² and lies in the Zambezi Valley, below the Kariba Dam; wildlife used it as a thoroughfare between the escarpment and the Zambezi River since the dawn of time.


Chimanimani Transfrontier Conservation Area

The Chimanimani TFCA comprises the Chimanimani Nature Reserve in Mozambique (2,368 km2 with approximately 645 km2 conservation area and 1,723 km2 buffer zone), Chimanimani National Park (200 km2) and Eland Sanctuary (15 km2) in Zimbabwe. It encompasses a number of mountain ranges with peaks rising to 2,436 m.

Subscribe for the updates!



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp