A Transfrontier Conservation Area (TFCA) refers to a cross-border region whose different component areas have different forms of conservation status such as national parks, private game reserves, communal natural resource management areas as well as hunting concession areas. Although fences, major highways, railway lines or other forms of barriers may separate the various parts, these areas nevertheless border each other and are jointly managed for long-term sustainable use of natural resources. Zimbabwe is proud to be associated with a new and exciting concept, popularly known as Transfrontier Conservation Areas, which is currently unfolding in Southern Africa. The Transfrontier Conservation Areas Initiative seeks to bring together established wildlife areas in the subcontinent in order to manage them as integrated units across international boundaries. The initiative involves the establishment, development and management of Transfrontier Conservation Areas. Objectives of TFCAs include the following:

  1. To foster trans-national collaboration and cooperation between and among states;
  2. Promote cooperation in the management of biological natural resources and cultural heritage resources by encouraging social, economic  and other partnerships among Government, private sector, local communities and non-governmental organisations;
  3. Enhance ecosystem integrity and natural ecological processes by harmonizing wildlife management policies and procedures across international boundaries and striving to remove artificial barriers inhibiting natural movement of animals;
  4. To facilitate the establishment and maintenance of a sustainable sub-regional economic base through appropriate development frameworks, strategies and work plans;
  5.  Promote trans-border eco-tourism development as a means for fostering regional socio-economic development; and
  6. Establish mechanisms to facilitate the exchange of technical, scientific and legal information for the joint management of the ecosystem.

 TFCA Initiatives in Zimbabwe Zimbabwe is currently pursuing six TFCAs and these are at various stages of development. These are:

  • Great Limpopo Transfrontier Conservation Area (GLTFCA)
  • Greater Mapungubwe (GM TFCA)
  • Kavango-Zambezi (KAZA TFCA)
  • Chimanimani TFCA
  • Lower Zambezi-Mana Pools TFCA
Share This