About Us

The Zimbabwe Parks & Wildlife Management Authority operates under an Act of Parliament, the Parks and Wildlife Act of 1975.

The Zimbabwe Parks and Wildlife Management Authority (ZPWMA) is a successor to the Department of National Parks and Wildlife Management. ZPWMA falls under the Ministry of Environment, Climate Change, Tourism and Hospitality Industry. Parks and Wildlife Act of 1996 (Chapter 20:14) as amended by Act Number 19 of 2001 gives the Authority power to control, manage and maintain Zimbabwe Wildlife resources both flora and fauna.

The Authority manages one of the largest estates in the country, one of the largest estates in the country, about 5 million hectares of land or 13% of Zimbabwe’s total land area. It should be noted that most of the Parks are located in Ecological Regions 4 and 5 or rugged mountainous areas which would not have much economic alternative use.

The Authority has a mandate to manage the entire wildlife population of Zimbabwe, whether on private or communal lands. Private landowners can utilize the wildlife on their land but are still accountable to the Authority for the welfare of the animals.

Mandated with the protection, management and administration of the wildlife of Zimbabwe, the Authority has had a proud history of sound management that endeavours to preserve the unique flora and fauna heritage of Zimbabwe.


To be the world leader in sustainable conservation.


To conserve Zimbabwe’s Wildlife heritage through protection and sustainable utilisation of natural resources for the benefit of the present and future generations.

Core Values






Management Team

Mr F. U. Mangwanya

Director General

Mrs P. Gandiwa

Executive Technical Advisor (ICA)

Mrs T. Muyemayema

Human Resources Manager

Mr D. Chitupa

Training and Development Principal

Mr F. Chikande

ParksMed Health Fund General Manager

Mr H. Magaya

I.C.T. Services Manager

Mr S. Nyasha

Business Development Manager

Mr J. Kusotera

Finance and Administration Manager

Mrs S. Musakwa

Cluster Manager (Harare)

Mrs M. Chikwanha

Cluster Manager (Nyanga)

Mr T. Jura

Cluster Manager (Ngezi)

Mr T. Mashingaidze

Head Chaplaincy & Counselling Service

Mr G. Matipano

Deputy Director General (Conservation)

Mr P. Mhaka

Chief Finance Officer

Mrs D. Tom

C.L.E.S. Manager

Mr A. Chingombe

Tourism and Quality Assurance Manager

Mr W. Asidi

Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation Manager

Mrs R. Mutetwa

Legal Services Manager

Mr G. Kuwora

Audit Manager

Mr P. November

Head Security and Intelligence

Mr S. Chibaya

Cluster Manager (Hwange - Zambezi)

Mr M. Kapesa

Cluster Manager (Sebungwe)

Mr F. Chimeramombe

Cluster Manager (Mid Zambezi)

Mr G. Manyumwa

Deputy Director General (Commercial)

Mr A. Musakwa

Chief Operations Officer

Mr F. Chuma

Corporate Secretary

Mr A. E. Dangare

Special Assignments Manager

Mr T. Farawo

Public Relations Manager

Mr I. H. Tendahupenyu

Chief Ecologist (Aquatic)

Mrs R. Mandisodza

Chief Ecologist (Terrestrial)

Dr. Chaitezvi

Chief Veterinary Doctor

Mr P. Dhlula

Marketing Manager

Mr L. Njiva

Cluster Manager (South Eastern Low-veld)

Mrs I. K. Manungo

Cluster Manager - Matobo


3 + 7 =

Share This